G – Monday 27th July 2015 – “Don’t Go Chasing Waterfalls…”

Current Smove high score: 51 (level 6). Ah Smove, how you vex me. I fear I shall never see level 6 again…

Aaaanyway, moving on. So it turns out that I LOVE taking photographs! I’d always been a bit ‘meh’ about it as I’d felt that I could never take decent photos, but using my new camera is so much fun! (thanks AJ, for helping me buy it and making me take photos!) I get to play around with the different settings and my current favourites to use are ‘miniature,’ ‘vibrant,’ and ‘toy camera.’ They make everything so much more interesting. What I do NOT like thought is ‘stitch together,’ which is to make a panoramic – it is SHITE; it’s really difficult to use and doesn’t come out right, so forget that!

So! After a bit of a rocky start this morning (the bus came, the bus went, and the bus came back for us, thanks to a miscommunication via email), this day has been fantastic! We went to see two waterfalls – Seljalandsfoss, which we got to walk behind and which we were DRENCHED by, and Skökafoss, which we hiked up the side off and got to take pictures of from the top – absolutely breath-taking! It was really interesting experiencing the different temperatures – it was warmish walking around, but anywhere near the waterfall was freezing! Seljalandsfoss

Seljalandsfoss
Seljalandsfoss
Getting Drenched!
Getting Drenched!

Seljalandsfoss

Behind Seljalandsfoss
Behind Seljalandsfoss

Seljalandsfoss Skökafoss Skökafoss

We got to trek all the way up the side to the top of the fall.
We got to trek all the way up the side to the top of the fall.

As we drove down the south coast we experienced all sorts of weather – really sunny and warm, lots of random rain showers and wind, all while taking in the beautiful sights of the country – from misty mountains to sand pains to lava fields. We lunched on the beach by Vik Village: the sand in Iceland is black, which is seriously cool and a little bit mind-trippy at the same time.

Viking Troll
Viking Troll
Love the black sand
Love the black sand

The cliffs which has been worn away by the sea made such interesting shapes and it was really cool to learn that a good chunk of the land we were driving over had been brought out from the sea thanks to all the glaciers, and the cliffs we drove past had once been sea cliffs. From there we had a quick stop off at a lava field – Skaftareldahraun, which was stunning to look at. It’s like the Earth is bubbling, only the bubbles are hard and there’s random green patches with tiny flowers and then lots of rocks. They’re really interesting textures and colours, I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on a piece of lava jewellery before we go… Lava Field Lava Field Lava Field

I have to say though that the absolute piece de resistance of today was going to see the glacial lagoon – OH. MY. GOD. It’s BEYOND words how beautiful and awesome it is. It’s completely other-worldly and ethereal, I could not stopping taking pictures of it.

Looks like a dragon!
Looks like a dragon!

This is what I have to put up with...
This is what I have to put up with…
Sooo pretty!
Sooo pretty!

Our tour guide G (I can’t remember her name, only that it begins with G. I now know how non-Irish people feel when they hear my name!) asked if we’d like to go out on a boat tour of the lagoon first this tomorrow – I am so excited!!! It made leaving to head to the guest house that bit more bearable. The guest house itself is very cute (though the room has two very much single beds at opposite ends of the room so I guess they don’t approve of unmarried snuggling… :/ ). There’s a museum here for a writer, which has giant books along a wall (I WILL take pictures!).

Room key for the guest house - really cute!
Room key for the guest house – really cute!
There was a lot of random pictures and stuffed animals in the house - I particularly liked this little guy
There was a lot of random pictures and stuffed animals in the house – I particularly liked this little guy
I just adore this!
I just adore this!

Right now I am feeling VERY hungry…luckily dinner’s in 15mins! 😀

So, our tour group: there’s 13 of us including our tour guide G: 3 Americans (one of which “communed” which the waterfalls and glaciers and is a massive hippy!), and all the rest are Chinese, so they haven’t talked much to us (plus the two behind us literally ate the entire journey WITH THEIR MOUTHS OPEN 😡 Serious, I could hear it, it was GROSS) But all in all it seems like a nice group, and G is lovely, telling us lots of facts as we’re driving along and stories about “The Hidden People,” and showing us her family farms where she grew up. (Her family also part own Seljalandsfoss, which is pretty cool). [NOTE: In Iceland people like 100% seriously believe in elves, fairies and trolls, and make special places for them and everything – I think it’s awesome!]

[BACK FROM DINNER]

I heard a really cool/funny saying during dinner from one of the Chinese guys:

“The camera eats first.”

Turns out taking pictures of food is HUGE in Hong Kong, which to be fair, is true for most of the world at this stage. It was really nice chatting with the different people in the group (except for the MOUTH EATERS who sat at the opposite end of the table and ignore everyone…I don’t think they’ve much/any English to be fair…) and finding out what they were doing – some heading on to Helsinki, some having been in Norway, some just here for a holiday.

Right, this needs to be said:

Okay, so they come out with baskets of bread and told us the soup was self-service – brill! HOWEVER – there were like 10 tubs of butter in the basket and like 4 pieces of bread all different (mainly tiny) sizes! What is this???!!! Thankfully they refilled the basket, therefore showing that they understand people like to EAT their bread instead of just looking at it “artistically” placed. Then we went for soup – GENUINELY I thought they had run out of bowls, until I realised that what I thought were plates were in fact supposedly bowls – were they trying to get the world record for the flattest bowls ever??? That’s the only explanation I can think of. Despite this shoddy start both the soup and bread were DELICIOUS, as were the chicken and smoked trout that we’d ordered.

NOM!
NOM!

I am now very full of food (i.e. Carrying a small food baby) and very happily tucked up in our room. T called and we had a chat about the rehearsal and hen party and staying in her sister’s on Saturday night (and getting nails done. Which strangely enough, AJ wasn’t interested in…). I am very excited for the wedding!

Current Arm Status: less painful, but I think my forearms are swelling now…I’m taking it has a sign of healing.

Favourite pics from today: a photo of the mountain in which a bird made the classic ‘m’ shape, and a picture of a troll statue – seriously, I adore how much troll memorabilia there is everywhere.

Looking forward to tomorrow’s adventures!

Slan! 😀

G

Leave a Reply

