G – Wednesday 5th August 2015 – “On the Road Again…”

Starting Point: Fundy National Park, New Brunswick

Finishing Point: Walmart Car Park, 169 Rte-230, La Pocatiere, QC, G0R

Distance Travelled: 607km

The route from Fundy to Quebec
The route from Fundy to Quebec

Oh. My. God. I just saw a sign for…*drumroll*… a Potato Museum!!! How badly do I wish I could go?? REALLY BADLY!! So as you may have guessed, I’ve started writing this while on the road. Our plan for today is basically to drive as close to Quebec city as we can so we can hopefully get pretty much all of tomorrow between the city and National Park where we’re camping. So far today, we hiked around parts of the Fundy National Park – we saw a waterfall (Dickenson’s Fall),

Fundy

Nice view of the bridge
Nice view of the bridge
These red chairs are around a lot of places we went, they're so cute!
These red chairs are around a lot of places we went, they’re so cute!

Fundy

What a view!
What a view!
Heading down to Dickenson's Fall
Heading down to Dickenson’s Fall
AJ leads the way!
AJ leads the way!

Fundy

Part of the brook
Part of the brook

Fundy Fundy

I took so many photos, it was really hard narrowing it down to these few...
I took so many photos, it was really hard narrowing it down to these few…
Dickenson's Fall
Dickenson’s Fall

Fundy Fundy Fundy Fundy

and went down to the beach during low tide – that area has the lowest tides in the world, we were essentially walking along the sea bed. It was incredible, especially as there was a LOT of mist in from the sea. The vibrant setting was fantastic for the different coloured rocks and seaweed. AJ went for more muted tones to show the mist and atmosphere. We definitely have some sort of collaborative piece in there on different outlooks on life or something, haha.

Must start the day with a proper meal!
Must start the day with a proper meal!

Beach at Fundy

Part of my
Part of my “AJ Wanders” colletion

Beach at Fundy

It's so misty!
It’s so misty!

Beach at Fundy Beach at Fundy

AJ going for a paddle
AJ going for a paddle
I think it looks like some sort of creature's head...
I think it looks like some sort of creature’s head…

IMG_1093

I adore the way this looks
I adore the way this looks

Beach at Fundy

How the beach looked as we walked onto it.
How the beach looked as we walked onto it.

We also stopped off at the visitor centre to get our Fundy National Park patches – matching for our anniversary 🙂 Oh and we exchanged anniversary presents – I got AJ a paragliding experience and she got me a beautiful bracelet that doubles as a bobbin holder – cute and practical, just the way I like it!

Before we headed off, we had serious business to attend to:

  • Go to Kelly’s Bakeshop for their ‘world famous’ sticky buns… and get cookies too (it’s mandatory!)
  • Go to the petrol station to fill up the tank and get snack supplies and bite cream.
Saying goodbye to the campsite...
Saying goodbye to the campsite…

Fundy

Kelly's Bakeshop

The sign says it all.
The sign says it all.

Alma Alma Road Trip Snacks

All set for the road!
All set for the road!
This tasted amazing!
This tasted amazing!

Road Trip Snacks

Gotta love fake Oreos
Gotta love fake Oreos

Jobs done, it was on the road again. I’ve found that using the continuous shot mode on the camera works best to capture all the things I see on the side of the road. Let me tell you this about Canada: there are some FUNNY signs on the side of the road, most of which I missed because I’m not fast enough to get my camera ready.

I did manage to get this guy though
I did manage to get this guy though

What I did manage to get were a lot of road signs – the signs for the roads we’ve been driving on, and the signs with the names of places. Because here’s the other thing about Canada: they aren’t very original with their names. Here are some examples of actual place names in Canada:

Dublin

Sussex

Letterkenny

Dorchester

Oxford (blueberry capitol of Canada did you know?)

Bristol

And a motel called Inisfree.

Road Trip Signs

This is the road we followed the majority of the way
This is the road we followed the majority of the way

Road Trip Signs Road Trip Signs Road Trip Signs

We’ve been driving for over 6 hours now, with plans for going for another 2ish hours depending on where we see a rest stop. We’ve had two stops today – one to get lunch (sandwiches, watermelon and pizza slices), and the second to get Tim Hortons (me: French vanilla, AJ: steeped tea, shared a maple dipped doughnut). The verdict: lives up to the hype! I have to say this: aside from the fact that they stock Tetleys and not much else in the way of tea bags in the shops, Canada is on it with the tea – it’s strong and full of flavour, gaining both the Irish and Yorkshire seal of approval!

Peanut butter chocolate chip cookie - super tasty!
Peanut butter chocolate chip cookie – super tasty!
Really good pizza considering I bought it at a rest stop station!
Really good pizza considering I bought it at a rest stop station!

We’ve driven through 3 random rain storms and seen lightning storms in the distance – the weather here is at times as random as Ireland, except it’s much warmer. I also have found two bites, one on my left foot that has caused my ankle to swell up like a golf ball, and one on my right foot which is red and super itchy but not swollen. Hopefully the bite cream will help!  Also forgot to mention we had to stop so AJ could get a pillow for her back – she now looks like an old lady behind the giant steering wheel, it’s adorable!

Rain shower in the distance...
Rain shower in the distance…
Looks pretty heavy...
Looks pretty heavy…
Hmm, those clouds are getting close...
Hmm, those clouds are getting close…
BAM! Suddenly we're in it
BAM! Suddenly we’re in it

AJ

We have now crossed the border into Quebec! New Brunswick is all about celebrating being bi-lingual, , whereas Quebec is full up “we are French Canadians. You don’t speak French? Tough.” All the road signs are in French, thank God for Canada putting pictures and symbols on all of their road signs. I’m also sure the clocks have gone back an hour, but I’m not too sure…need to stop somewhere with a clock. The one thing that stays constant as we drive along is the landscape – it is BEAUTIFUL: forests, mountains, rivers and lakes, even the farmland and buildings are completely picturesque. I’ve probably taken way too many pictures of the scenery and clouds but I don’t care!

Crossing the border into Quebec!
Crossing the border into Quebec!
Uhhh...where did all the English go??
Uhhh…where did all the English go??
What a nice welcome!
What a nice welcome!

Road Trip

Turns out giant moose roam the streets at night...
Turns out giant moose roam the streets at night…
Gorgeous scenery
Gorgeous scenery

Road Trip

Beautiful Weather
Beautiful Weather

Road Trip Road Trip Road Trip Road Trip

Oh my god Quebec, sort your roads out, it feels like the entire campervan is about the shake apart!

Endless roadworks and your roads are still in a state...
Endless roadworks and your roads are still in a state…

Saw the funniest place name ever (and managed to take a picture!): Saint-Louis-du-Ha!Ha! I seriously hope everyone who lives there is constantly jolly and laughing.

In my head, this is a magical place...
In my head, this is a magical place…

BTW, AJ and I are killing it with the ipod and singing along with the songs – classic road trip, oh yeah!

So, in our search for a place to stop for the night we decided to take an exit with the (tent/campercan) sign… it turns out this is not the sign for a basic rest stop, but for full-on chalet, massive, family-friendly campsites – no thank you! So we move on in search of pastures green and child-free.

At least the sky's a beautiful distraction from the tiredness
At least the sky’s a beautiful distraction from the tiredness

Road Trip

Salvation! We have found a Walmart! Currently we are parked and locked up with noodles cooking, for we are tired and STARVING. While we wait we are eating the sticky buns – they are delicious, a little like chunky cinnamon rolls. Because we like variety, we are having a combo of chicken and spicy chicken noodles with sesame seed crackers – it’s hot, hearty and hits the spot – yum!! I feel a million times better having eaten, all I want is bed…

OH HOLY GOD, my right foot is swollen now too – the inside of my foot looks like an ankle!! I need antihistamines NOW!!

Dear lord, it's enormous...
Dear lord, it’s enormous…

So we’ve decided that the best time to shower is now when there’s no one around rather than tomorrow morning. We played a couple of games of flux waiting for the water to heat up, winning one game each.

The shower is actually pretty good – decent pressure and the water’s actually really hot! Two quick showers uses up about a third of a tank so that’s good to know. We’re aiming for a serviced campsite tomorrow in the National Park so we can dump the sewage and top up the fresh water.

Time for bed, I am exhausted!!

Slán! 😀

G

Leave a Reply

